So… we started a YouTube channel

I reckon if I were to clock our YouTube viewing hours in 2020, it would easily be higher than the previous three years combined. That global pandemic has seen us react really differently to travel and we started our first lockdown with travel videos which quickly morphed into van life videos.

In preparation for building our own van, we’ve researched via YouTube. And I mean a lot. While my sister was staying here for a few weeks I subjected her to hours of van tours. By the end of it, she was in agreement with us about our layout and keen for the van to get here (still waiting – at least five months to go!)

Darryl and I have talked about documenting our build on YouTube. Partly to be part of the van build and eventually van life community and partly to document our own van build odyssey.

I’ve had this travel blog for years, pottering around, writing when I wanted to. I have an instragram account full of my travel pics from New Zealand and abroad. So stretching to YouTube was easy. I set it all up. Megan’s Odyssey here we come. As Darryl and I were filming our first video (watch this space) he pointed out that the name ‘Megan’s Odyssey’ was not very inclusive of him. His suggestion – The Peterson Odyssey. I was floored. On the one hand, I didn’t want to change things given that I’ve had the blog and Insta for ages and I’d just set YouTube up. On the other… it was infinitely better.

I present… The Peterson Odyssey video no. 1

We are going to be posting semi-regularly with our travels around Aotearoa and documenting our van build. We will get better than this video but I wanted us to start with an intro to the world. We’d love it if you could like this video and subscribe to this channel.

Leave a comment